This Is How It Works

We don’t exactly like our neighbor. She doesn’t exactly like us. She’ll only ever talk to my dog and my mother-in-law. She ignores us when we wave at her as we walk or drive by. She likes to burn lawn debris when I’m outside with the kids and blow the leaves out of her driveway at 9 at night.

But she told my mother-in-law while she was out with my kids today that her husband had just passed away two days ago. She doesn’t have any family to speak of, and I find it hard to believe that she has many friends. So I have a condolence apple-cranberry cobbler in the oven to take over to her this evening.

I do this because this is The South and that’s how it works down here. We don’t let the grieving go hungry. Ever. But more than that, it’s the right thing to do, the nice thing to do.

Because you don’t have to like somebody to be nice to them. Because it’s especially important to be nice to somebody when you don’t like them. Just let that one marinate for a little while.

Leave a Reply

