And They Really Don’t

So, it’s been a while since I posted.  I’ve been a bit busy.

The thing of it is, on November 14, 2010,  at about 7:45 a.m., at about 35 weeks gestation, my precious sons were born.  It was a Sunday, two days before my scheduled c-section date.  On that Saturday night, I’d had some painful contractions and so we went to Labor and Delivery (for the 4th time).  I was hooked up to the monitors, like they do, and they watched me overnight.  Apparently, my blood pressure was elevated, so they took it every fifteen minutes throughout the night.  Tired, in pain, and unable to sleep, they gave me an Ambien and two Percocet at about 3:30 in the morning.  Three hours later, a nurse pokes her head in the door and tells me to wake up Andrew, they were taking the babies in an hour.  Apparently, I’d officially developed pre-eclampsia.  Andrew was better able to see the monitors a lot better than I could.  He told me that the last blood pressure reading they took was 200/103.

The rest of the morning was pretty much a blur.  Thanks to the Ambien, I don’t remember much of the birth.  Mark weighed 5 lbs 14 oz.  Michael weighed 5 lbs 8oz.  Both have a full head of hair.  Mark had a few little problems and spent our entire stay in the Special Care Nursery, but we call got to go home together that Thursday.  That was exactly one week before Thanksgiving.  We had a lot to be thankful for this year.

Unfortunately, because of some medicine that I have to take, I’m unable to breastfeed, so the boys have only ever gotten formula.  After we were home for a few days, it became apparent that Mark was having trouble with the formula we had them on, so we swapped him to the soy formula.  He didn’t do any better with that one either, so we swapped one more time to a “sensitive” formula.  He’s doing much better.

They really are great kids.  They’re not particularly fussy, and not usually at the same time.  They’ve sorted out day and night.  At night, they almost always give us a four or five hour stretch.  Once, they went six!  They’re staying awake a little more during the day.  They’re becoming a little more interactive.  My favorite is when they smile in their sleep.  I like to think they’re having sweet, happy baby dreams.

They’re very distinct people already.  Of course, they’re fraternal, so they’re no more genetically similar than any other set of brothers and they have their physical distinctions.  Michael has a cleft chin and rounder ears.  Mark has slightly red hair.  They both have incredibly chubby, kissable cheeks and beautiful blue eyes, though.  Michael is more temperamental.  Mark is more stubborn.  They are both completely amazing.

These days, they’re seven and a half weeks old.  We took them to the doctor Tuesday for a check-up.  Mark weighed 11 lbs 12 oz.  Michael weighed 12 lbs 10 oz.  My tiny little premies have turned into quite the little chunkers!

Andrew is amazing with them.  He works from home three days a week, and that really helps me out.  He also gets up with me at night to feed them.  The look on his face when he talks to them is the most… indescribable thing.  I never thought I could love him more than I did before, but I find that I do.

It’s a sort of odd feeling, being a mother.  It’s occasionally difficult to take myself seriously when I own and wear panties with cupcakes on them, but, then again, I was never really into taking myself all that seriously.  It’s a difficult job, and it never ends.  There is always something else that needs to be done.  But really, it’s not bad.  It honestly doesn’t suck.  I was warned that the first three months are the worst and that if I can survive that, I can survive anything.  Well, we’re half-way through those first three months, and it’s never been bad.  Certainly, it’s not been easy, but it’s definitely been manageable, and if it only gets easier from here on out, then I really don’t see what the big deal is.  Maybe I just have really great kids.  Maybe I’m secretly a super-mom and never knew it.  But seriously.  Not that bad.

Twins, officially, don’t suck.

2 responses to “And They Really Don’t

  1. Nicole Hernandez

    Told ya it was going to be fun. Just wait the party is just getting started but enjoy them being small it goes by so fast. I don’t know if it is because they are twins but I don’t remember Michael or Haily growing as fast as Jacob and Theresa. I can’t believe they are already a year old and all over the place. I have to say I agree with you that twins don’t suck, I think they are kinda cool and wonderful. I am glad to hear that they are getting so big and that you guys are all doing well. I hope to meet them soon. Maybe you will be able to bring them to a race or two this season when it gets warmer.

  2. i love you!

Leave a Reply

